Simple Eid Tablescape

I love entertaining. Although I am an average cook and I (almost) always need rescuing from my food situation (read: last minute pizza delivery for ‘backup’), I still love making people feel special whenever I can, in simple little ways. Imagine takeout food served with love- that could be my hosting mojo. This time around, it would be the 2 of us on eid and Arham on his high chair so no preps needed for him!

I wanted to create a minimalist layout with a neutral woodsy palette, to let food (currently in its very raw state in the freezer) take center stage. You can mentally insert biryani and samosay in the layout for added interest, I do wish I had some at hand. Then again, would they have lasted long enough to take photos of?

DSC_0168

Loads of pictures and some easy steps below to get you inspired in case you’re looking for a clean, simple and minimalist setting for your dining situation. I didn’t have to buy anything for this, its basically a little improvised version of what I would have done if we had family or friends coming over. Sigh. Anyhoo, lets get in!

 

Step 1: Gather all the candles from around the house

Step 2: Perch said candles on pillar holders of varying heights, use a nice tray/marble chopping board/any clean chopping board to anchor your accents pieces.

Step 3: Add (fresh or faux) greens in a jar/glass/repurposed jug.

Step 4: Enter disposable plates (very fancy, I know!) paired with your favorite glasses. Oddly enough, I can eat in a plastic plate but I always need a pretty glass, its a must!

DSC_0154

Step 5: Grab a clean napkin (aka roti ka kapra!), fold and tie it with twine/ribbon or in my case, a thin jute rope from the hardware store! Anything works, do as you please.

I enjoyed setting this up so much, fully convinced to do another, more festive one this weekend! I hope you like it as much I imagine you would! LOL.

Eid mubarak to all those celebrating! Until next time…

5 thoughts on “Simple Eid Tablescape

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑